Length: 645 pgs / 25 hrs 22 mins audio

Overall: 🐢🐢🐢🐢🐢


Rating: 5 out of 5.

Writing Style:

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Character Development:

Rating: 5 out of 5.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

The best kind of adventures always carry a hint of danger

The Crown of Gilded Bones by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Story:

She’s been the victim and the survivor…

Poppy never dreamed she would find the love she’s found with Prince Casteel. She wants to revel in her happiness but first they must free his brother and find hers. It’s a dangerous mission and one with far-reaching consequences neither dreamed of. Because Poppy is the Chosen, the Blessed. The true ruler of Atlantia. She carries the blood of the King of Gods within her. By right the crown and the kingdom are hers.

The enemy and the warrior…

Poppy has only ever wanted to control her own life, not the lives of others, but now she must choose to either forsake her birthright or seize the gilded crown and become the Queen of Flesh and Fire. But as the kingdoms’ dark sins and blood-drenched secrets finally unravel, a long-forgotten power rises to pose a genuine threat. And they will stop at nothing to ensure that the crown never sits upon Poppy’s head.

A lover and heartmate…

But the greatest threat to them and to Atlantia is what awaits in the far west, where the Queen of Blood and Ash has her own plans, ones she has waited hundreds of years to carry out. Poppy and Casteel must consider the impossible—travel to the Lands of the Gods and wake the King himself. And as shocking secrets and the harshest betrayals come to light, and enemies emerge to threaten everything Poppy and Casteel have fought for, they will discover just how far they are willing to go for their people—and each other.

And now she will become Queen…

Key Elements:

Fantasy, Romance, Magic, New Adult, Smut, Vampire, Immortal

Key Elements:

Book 1: From Blood and Ash

Book 2:  Kingdom of Flesh and Fire

Book 4:  A Shadow in the Ember

Why This Rating?

Wow, I was blown away with this book and the twists and turns Armentrout had us on in the book. Full on jaw on floor, with complete shock when I finished it. There is so much blood on Armentrout’s hands after this book! I got to one point where a side character started to become far more involved in the story and I was saying, “OH! I like you a lot! But you were a support character. Now you are moving into a main-ish role…… You’re probably going to die….. Aren’t you? Is this going to be like the last time I started to like a side character and then Armentrout killed them off?” But that goes to show you how invested this author makes us get with characters. Granter we are 3 books in at this point so we should totally be expecting this type of thing. I mean all of these books have so much death and many of them are characters you’ve (I’ve) come to like.

I was so on board with this story you guys! We got to see a way more into the relationship between Poppy and Cas that was written wonderfully. And I don’t just mean a whole lot of sex, because that part of the conversation is definitely NOT lacking there in quantity or quality. Let us just say, don’t read this in public, don’t read this on a lunch break at work, and be ready for some super steamy, oh so awesome smut everywhere. Any way, their relationship is one built on complete trust, equality, and a pure love. It is so stunning to see how Cas practically worships Poppy for simply being herself; also, how Poppy is able to crack that icy surface and find that gentle heart Cas protects so fierce. Cas lets Poppy make her own decisions and supports the choices she makes for herself. While still maintaining his sarcastic, dark humorous self, of course. He puts her needs above everything and she would equally do anything for him too. #Goals!

This third book brought out so much of depth to the character’s we’ve already grown to love. One of the biggest takeaways from a character growing is Poppy learns to embrace her inner power and doesn’t take shit from nobody. Don’t mess with her or her hubby – Noted. Also, the cover makes so much more sense now! I know that most of the art Armentrout chooses has something to do with the story in one way or another. After reading it, I think this cover captures the story perfectly. I’m curious if any of you guys put the pieces together.

As a whole, this was a great book and if you haven’t read this series it is so worth it! And there are more scheduled to come out already. Book 4:  A Shadow in the Ember has the cover art revealed and date is set to come out this October (I’ll put up more info later for this book). So you better get to reading if you want to catch up!

Time to get lost in the next story!

Leave a Reply